Dr. Sanjeev Koppal

Sanjeev Koppal is an Associate Professor at the University of Florida’s Electrical and Computer Engineering Department. He also holds a UF Term Professor Award for 2021-24. Sanjeev is the Director of the FOCUS Lab at UF. Prior to joining UF, he was a researcher at the Texas Instruments Imaging R&D lab. Sanjeev obtained his Masters and Ph.D. degrees from the Robotics Institute at Carnegie Mellon University. After CMU, he was a postdoctoral research associate in the School of Engineering and Applied Sciences at Harvard University. He received his B.S. degree from the University of Southern California in 2003 as a Trustee Scholar. He is a co-author on best student paper awards for ECCV 2016 and NEMS 2018, and work from his FOCUS lab was a CVPR 2019 best-paper finalist. Sanjeev won an NSF CAREER award in 2020 and is an IEEE Senior Member. His interests span computer vision, computational photography and optics, novel cameras and sensors, 3D reconstruction, physics-based vision, and active illumination.

Dr. Koppal’s CV
NEB 437


Shahriar Sazzad

Sazzad received his doctorate from Edith Cowan University (ECU), Australia in 2018. As a post-doctoral researcher, he is working on Hyperspectral Imaging (HSI).


Justin Folden

Before joining the FOCUS Lab at UF, Justin obtained a B.S. degree in Electrical Engineering from Florida Polytechnic University. His interests include LiDAR, computer vision, deep learning, and computational photography. With the focus of his work being adaptive LiDAR.

Brevin Tilmon

Brevin’s research focuses on computer vision and computational imaging. | website

Jackson Arnold

Jackson received his B.S. in Engineering Physics before joining the FOCUS Lab.

Hannah Kirkland

Hannah is currently a graduate research assistant in the FOCUS Lab. She graduated with a B.S in Electrical Engineering from UF in 2021. Her interests include computer vision, quantum computing, and computational photography.

Yuxuan Zhang

Zhang received his undergraduate degree in physics at Xi’an Jiao Tong University. He’s now pursuing his PhD at UF. He is interested in Computer Science and Electrical Engineering. | website


Lianan Armil

Lianan is a 4th year Electrical Engineering student. She is interested in machine learning, image processing, and semiconductors.

Lianan Armil

Lianan is a 4th year Electrical Engineering student. She is interested in machine learning, image processing, and semiconductors.


Doctoral Students

Xiaomeng Liu
Thesis: Lightweight Light Transport for Non-line-of-sight Imaging (2022)

Dingkang Wang – Texas Instruments
Thesis: Quasi-static Scanning and Monolithic Forward Scanning Electrothermal MEMS Mirrors for LIDAR (2021)

Kristofer Henderson – Lockheed Martin
Thesis: Sensor Fusion for Non-Line-of-Sight Visualization and Imaging (2020)

Francesco Pittaluga – NEC Labs
Thesis: Privacy Preserving Computational Cameras (2019)

Xiaoyang Zhang (PhD co-advised with Dr. Huikai Xie) – Apple
Thesis: Robust Electrothermally Actuated Scanner for Fiberoptic Endoscopic Imaging and Wide-angle Optics (2016)

Master’s and Undergraduate Students

Class of 2022
Sophia Rossi (BS) – Microsoft
Nicolas Laffineuse (BS) – Texas Instruments
Gavin St. John (BS)

Class of 2021
TJ Thomas (BS) – PhD candidate at Carnegie Mellon University

Class of 2018
Zaid Tasneem (MS) – PhD candidate at Rice University

Class of 2017
Nahien Chowdhury (BS) – The Boeing Company
Tatiana Luna (BS) – MS/PhD candidate at Columbia University
Aashik Nagadikeri Harish (MS) – STRIVR Labs

Class of 2016
Aleksandar Zivkovic (MS) – Magic and Company
Junior Metayer (BS) – Florida Power and Light
Phillip Riley (MS) – Harris Corporation
Ishwarya Iyengar Thirunarayanan (MS) – Siemens Imaging

Class of 2015
Elizabeth Butler (MS) – Lockheed Martin